The Department of Computer Science and Systems Engineering (DIIS) of the University of Zaragoza was created as such in April 1995, including the areas of knowledge that are detailed below and which previously belonged to the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. 


  • Arquitectura y Tecnología de Computadores.
  • Ciencias de la Computación e Inteligencia Artificial.
  • Ingeniería de Sistemas y Automática.
  • Lenguajes y Sistemas Informáticos.


The DIIS is present in the centers: 


  • Escuela de Ingeniería y Arquitectura, Zaragoza (EINA).
  • Escuela Politécnica Superior, Huesca (EPSH).
  • Escuela Universitaria de Estudios Empresariales, Huesca (EUEEH).
  • Escuela Universitaria de Estudios Empresariales, Zaragoza (EUEEZ).
  • Facultad de Ciencias Sociales y del Trabajo, Zaragoza (FCSTZ).
  • Escuela Universitaria Politécnica de Teruel , Teruel (EUPT).
  • Facultad de Ciencias, Zaragoza (FC).
  • Facultad de Ciencias de la Salud y el Deporte, Huesca (FCSDH).
  • Facultad de Educación, Zaragoza (FEZ).
  • Facultad de Ciencias Sociales y Humanas, Teruel (FHCS).


In addition, the department is responsible for a doctoral program in "Systems Engineering and Information Technology" that obtained the Quality Award from the Ministry of Education and Science in the resolution dated May 28, 2003 (reference MCD2003-00466).


The research of the department is organized in different research groups.


Some members of the department also hold positions of responsibility in the Governing and Representation Bodies of the University of Zaragoza as well as in Centers, Faculties, Schools and Research Centers.


The department currently has a permanent staff of 110 professors, 94 of them doctors, 46 research fellows and 10 members of the administration and services staff.


The headquarters of the department is located in the School of Engineering and Architecture, Ed. Ada Byron, floors 0, 1 and 2. C / María de Luna nº 1, 50,018 - Zaragoza (976 761949)